Skip to content

Roberto Luongo is Named Captain and Nikolai Khabibulin is Without a Team?

September 30, 2008

Hello out there NHL hockey fans. I have recently been lucky enough to get full-time internet and a laptop (at least until the end of January), so I have had plenty of opportunities over the last week to find NHL goalie updates. This morning, a story featured on the NHL.com caught my eye very quickly. The Vancouver Canucks have named their starting goaltender, Roberto Luongo as their Captain for the upcoming hockey season. I couldn’t agree more! I’m “goaliecentric” in general and I’m happy to see a team chose a netminder as their Captain. In my world, this is a big deal. Yes indeed – GOALIES ROCK! Congrats to Luongo and the Canucks.

The Chicago Blackhawks, as of today, have two goalies on their roster. Neither of them is Nikolai Khabibulin. It would appear as though Khabibulin is now on waivers. Everyone knows I wasn’t happy about the goalie maneuvering that happened between Huet and Kolzig at the end of the Washington Capitals last season. Having gotten beyond that at this point, I still am left wondering exactly what the thought process is for the folks in Chicago with regard to their netmindig roster. Huet, like Raycroft and Gerber, can be very effective in the net. Huet did a great job for the Capitals, as opposed to his former performance with Montreal. There’s not enough money to keep Khabibulin? Why was there enough money to pay Huet far more than he was worth not even a season ago. Does Chicago think Khabibulin is too old? Does Chicago think that Huet can carry an entire season – hopefully into the playoffs. Why would they? To me, it just doesn’t make sense. I suppose we’ll have to see what Huet and Crawford (who is a green rookie) can do – but of all the teams in the NHL, I have to postulate a high chance of disappointment with decisions made about their goalie roster. Huet may be on a career-high upswing – so as I usually say “we’ll all have to wait and see”.

I checked-put a Yahoo NHL blog called Puck Daddy today. He’s got a Washington Capitals, Season ’08-’09 pre-season review you might want to check out. I have read at Puck Daddy and a couple of other places today that Kkabibulin is being considered by other teams. As of 5:20 p.m. Eastern time today, I have not heard any news about Nikolai Khabibulin. It has come as a surprise to me that Khabibulin, of all the NHL goalies out there, is currently a “floater”. Well, there are a few teams out there who should seriously think about finding some cash – Khabibulin holds his own and could be a great asset. I’ll have to check back in with the NHL goalies a bit later this evening.

Go CAPS! Go Goalies! Rock on Hockey! Don’t forget to check out another of my blogs here!

Comments are closed.

