Skip to content

10/8 – CAPS Open Season in ATL and Do Their Part to Fight Cancer – The Fans Can Help Fight Cancer Too!

October 8, 2010

10/8/10

It’s the first day of the Washington Capital’s 2010-2011 regular season and it begins on the road in a game against the Atlanta Thrashers. I’m representing the NHL at the office today. There was a blast e-mail sent two days ago stating that today is “Purple Friday” in honor of the Baltimore ravens. I have taken the approach that making a declaration like that is exclusionary of other sports and other sports’ fans, so of course, I’m all suited-up in RED today. There are few Redskin’s fans sporting their colors, but I’m the only one I’ve seen wearing anything ice hockey related. Those silly football fans don’t know what they’re missing. GO CAPS!!

I’ve already taken a few hits for hockey this season. Yesterday, I was not well at all and took a complete sick day. I don’t usually do that. I can telecommute and even on some of my worst days, I’ve worked in some way or another. Yesterday was not a good day in more than one way. First, I could barely sit-up when I awoke and after coffee and medication, the situation did not improve much. Then, after resting for quite some time and taking a long nap in the middle of the afternoon, I got up and moving (slowly) to get the cable connection all squared away for tonight’s Washington Capitals game. I drilled a hole and got the cables where they needed to be with a great deal of cussing and frustration. When I attached the boxes sent to my housemate from Comcast or Xfinity or whatever the heck it’s called, I activated them per the instructions. Sounds simple right?

Yeah, not so much. The boxes are DTA (digital transport adapters) and the one attached to my TV didn’t do anything except make the sound on my TV barely work at all. Then, since I have a digital tuner on my TV, I removed the box and plugged the cable right into my TV. After scanning for channels, I discovered that I don’t get Comcast Sportsnet from the Mid-Atlantic. I get Comcast Sportsnet from whatever region shows Bulls v. Mavericks games. Plus, I get about 7 channels each of the affiliates that show NBC, CBS and ABC. I could watch CSI on 7 different channels, but I couldn’t see anything on Versus.

My housemate was in a very bad mood. She seems to think that taking what she calls her “Happy Pills” only when she is in a bad mood is a good idea. She didn’t take care of her prescription, so she’d been without her “Happy Pills” for several days now. I tried to tell her that pill consistency is the best practice, but she hasn’t caught on to that yet. She swears that I should be able to see the same channels she gets downstairs just by plugging directly into the cable. She got highly agitated that I must have use the wrong kind of cable. Yes, because coax cable varies widely right?

Anyway, I was feeling like death was near and my angry housemate didn’t make matters better, so I let it go and figured I’d find a way to see the game somehow. I have concocted quite the plan, but it’ll be a minor miracle if I can pull-it off by the time the puck drops this evening. I’m dug-in though. I refuse to miss the season opener. I didn’t come this close to victory just to watch 7 channels of NBC this evening. I am thinking that both the Washington Capitals and I will both triumph this evening. We can do it and we know we can 🙂 HOCKEY ROCKS!!

Which reminds me, it’s FANTASTIC to see that the Washington Capitals are participating so heavily in the fight against cancer this month. The CAPS have teamed-up with the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society (look at the on my “Favorite Links” to your right to find out more about the LLS). This month is Cancer Awareness month in the NHL and Hockey Fights Cancer is a great, great thing. The Hockey Fights Cancer Night in Washington is on Saturday, October 23. Given the fact that blood cancer is now a fact of my life, this announcement touches me personally. I encourage everyone to to text HFC to 90999 to make a $5 donation to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and help find a cure for cancer. Capitals fans should also consider helping locally by donating specifically to the National Capital Area Chapter at http://www.lls.org/capsfans.

I am thrilled about this news and thank the Washington Capitals, the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and the NHL for all taking part in raising money to save the lives of those of us affected by blood cancer. Hey Washington Capitals fans – help out your fellow Rocker’s of the Red like me and many, many more I’m sure by rocking the donations. Even $5 can make a huge difference. There’s some cool stuff (player worn jersey’s fit into the “cool stuff” category) being auctioned to raise money for the National Capital Area Chapter of the LSS. Bring your wallets on October 23 and pay A LOT of money for the jerseys being auctioned. You’ll get a one of a kind Capitals item and you’ll help some of the people who are walking around you at Capitals games who are battling for their lives. I know the economy hasn’t been great, but you don’t really need to get Starbucks coffee all the time do you? ROCK YOUR DONATIONS CAPS FANS!!!

Well, I’m off to walk the halls representing the NHL amongst all the NFL fans – forget the purple – RED’s where it’s at!

Give the Thrashers a taste of what going to be a continued problem for them all season long CAPS – ROCK THE SEASON HARD! Thanks again to all my fellow ice hockey fans for the positive thoughts – screw cancer – peace – mia – sciencegirl99@excite.com

Comments are closed.

