Skip to content

2/23/11- Washington Capitals Fan Seeking Other Fans to Help Spread a Little Hockey Love

February 23, 2011

2/23/11

Good morning CAPS/NHL fans. Today I am sending out a very small request for a few fans of the game to help me be sure a couple of people who benefit from the services of the Washington DC area Most Valuable Kids organization (MVK) gets the full Washington Capitals hockey experience at a game this season. Click here to learn more. Some who stop here at Singing from the Crease every-so-often may already know a little about me. For those who don’t, you can get some background by checking out the “Get to Know Mia” page (click here). In short, March 9th is my 39th birthday. When I was 35, I was told I would not live past my 37th birthday. Obviously, here I still am ready to celebrate my bonus 2 years with all the Capitals fans, the Washington Capitals and even the Edmonton Oilers at the Verizon Center on Wednesday, March 9th.

As it has happened, some people who know me have been working very hard to get money together so I can see some Washington Capitals games live this season and sit as close to the ice as they can afford to get me. So far, I have been to 2 games this season. The last game was the February 8th game against the San Jose Sharks. I got to sit in Row B in Section 121. I love sitting that close to the ice for many reasons, but I will sit all the way in the back row, against the wall in a 400 section if that’s how it happens as well. I simply love being at Washington Capitals games.

I am now able to benefit from the charity of others by having a guaranteed seat to 3 more CAPS games in a Row B seat this regular season (well 2 more games actually, because very soon someone with a 400-level seat will be trading me for my Row B seat). My housemate and I will be going to the Capitals vs. Oilers game on March 9th and sitting together in Section 121 Row B. She’s never been to a game before, so the Capitals Nation will hook another fan for sure, but the best part is that I had already purchased 2 tickets for that same game in Section 402. It was a no-brainer when I contacted the DC area’s MVK website to donate those 2 tickets so a child and parent, or uncle or coach or whomever can also get the chance to experience a live NHL game.

Where you all enter into the picture is my thought that getting tickets to see Capitals hockey in the Verizon Center is one thing, but the financial burden of transportation, food and drink while at the game and of course, the most important part of the experience of ROCKING THE RED along with the rest of the crowd by wearing a couple of CAPS t-shirts may be an issue for the 2 who get the donated tickets. I have been in contact with the Executive Director of the MVK program in DC, Jenn Skolochenko-Platt, and we will be coordinating to be sure the folks who get my donated tickets also get at least some food and a couple of Capitals t-shirts. I have offered to pay for those things and my housemate (a.k.a. a new Capitals hockey fan) and I have offered a ride to the game if transportation is an issue for whomever gets the donated tickets.

If there are a few Capitals fans or lovers of the game of ice hockey who are willing to get in touch with me and give a small amount of money, offer to purchase a couple of shirts for the MVK ticket holders, purchase some food and drink for the two people who get the tickets or who can do ANYTHING at all to help the experience be all it can be for the donated-ticket holders, please contact me (Mia) at singingfromthecrease@gmail.com. I will make sure the folks get the experience no matter what, but I am also not in a great financial position and feel confident that some of the Capitals fans out there love the game as much as I do and will be more than happy to help me out in this effort.

I figure that as Washington Capitals fans, many of us are blessed to have the chance to see the games live. It will not take a lot of effort or money to join together to help a couple of people get the same experience we all know and love (okay, some of you get upset and are frustrated by Capitals hockey this season, but imagine how you’d feel if you never had a chance to see a game at all). The Washington Capitals have participated as partners in helping MVK with its mission for a while. Click here to see how. I appreciate Alexander Ovechkin and Mike Green for helping out MVK and can’t help but think of all the hockey love they have spread over the years as CAPS players.

I now also have a Twitter account @creasesinger, so I’m confident we can get the word out and very quickly have everything ready to go by March 9th for the 2 people who benefit from the DC area Most Valuable Kids program. Also, please keep MVK in your mind when you know you can’t attend a Capitals game yourself. MVK also takes donated tickets to many, many different types of events in the Washington DC area, so at any time, you can spread the love of music, the zoo, the arts and other sports. (What? there are other sports besides hockey? I learn something new every day. 🙂 )

Thanks so much for reading this post and even if you can’t lend a hand, please help spread the word if you get a moment to pass around some hockey love. KEEP CHECKING BACK HERE AT SFTC. SOME OF YOU MAY REMEMBER THAT I TRADED MY ROW B SEAT FOR A 400-LEVEL SEAT FOR THE LAST REGULAR SEASON CAPS HOME GAME AGAINST THE BOSTON BRUINS LAST YEAR. I WILL BE TRADING A ROW B SEAT IN SECTION 120 (NEAR THE ZAMBONI ENTRANCE) FOR A 400-LEVEL SEAT AGAIN THIS YEAR. IT WILL BE A NATIONALLY BROADCAST GAME. MORE DETAILS WILL BE POSTED HERE VERY SOON.

GO CAPS!!! ROCK THE HOCKEY LOVE EVERYDAY!! BELIEVE IN YOUR DC ICEMEN. TRUST THE PROCESS. LOVE THE GAME – peace – mia – singingfromthecrease@gmail.com – luvya

Comments are closed.

